Rio 2016 arenas


Summer Olympic Games in 48 disciplines will be held in Rio de Janeiro. However, football tournament will be decided on stadiums that are located in Rio and other cities, as Belo Horizonte, Brasilia, Salvador and Sao Paulo. Competitions among others Olympic disciplines will focus on 4 arena of Rio de Janeiro – Barra, Copacabana, Maracana, Deodoro.


District of Barra da Tijuca that is often called as Barra, will be the central point of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. The Barra is located in the western part of the city, surrounded by a lagoon and mountains. Characteristic of this place are the best beaches in the whole of Rio de Janeiro.

For the occasion of Olympic Games the Barra district was chosen for home to the Olympic Park (the largest concentration of sports Arena during the Games). Among 15 arena in the Barra district will be organized 23 Olympic competitions. In the Barra zone/area will also be organized Olympian Village and Press Center.


Copacabana is the most famous district in Rio de Janeiro with 4km long beach. In this place will be located Olympic Arena for beach volleyball – discipline which comes originally from Brazil. Other disciplines like long-distance swimming, triathlon, cycling’s elite race bike will be held in the waters, or the area around Fort Copabana at the southern end of the beach. Close to Copacabana area is based the Island with Lagoa Stadim where will place competitions of rowers and canoeists.


Maracanã zone is located in the northern part of Rio, near the city center. It includes two of the most famous landmarks in Rio:

  • Maracana stadium, where will be the Opening and Closing Ceremony and matches football;
  • the Sambodromo – a place carnival parade which will host, among others, Olympic Marathon.


The second largest concentration of sports competition will be Deodoro Olympic Park that is located in the western parts of Rio. That promising you unforgettable combination of traditional and new sports. It 2007 in Deodoro took place Pan American Games were held in 2007. The main Arena will be here X-Park, that include Whitewater Stadium and BMX Centre.